Repeal Prostitution Free Zones

Help us stop racial and gender profiling in DC!

After 9 years in action, DC's Prostitution Free Zone Legislation has proven an intolerable failure.  Far from ending prostitution it has simply moved street work from downtown into our neighborhoods, increased racial and gender profiling, wasted resources, and perpetuated cycles of abuse, harassment and incarceration.  

The law is dangerous because it lowers the standard of evidence an officer requires to arrest someone on prostitution related offenses - meaning that "looking like a prostitute" or "engaging passers by in conversation", or visiting the HIPS outreach van could be enough evidence that an officer can require a person to leave the area or face arrest. This means that women of color, transgender women, and anyone who's skirt might be considered "too short" can be stopped, searched and told to leave an area -- even if they live there.  

Join us in calling for a more compassionate approach to addressing the issue of street prostitution and sex work. End the harmful and unconstitutional practice of Prostitution Free Zones and clear the way to put resources back into the community to offer reality based, proven services to victims of trafficking and sex workers on our streets. 

Please contact DC Council Members today and tell them you support the repeal of Prostitution Free Zones -- especially Judiciary Committee members Anita Bonds, Muriel Bowser, Mary Cheh, Jack Evans, and Tommy Wells and ask them to support the legislation!  

Please take a moment to take action today. 

Here's contact information for the Council:

Phil Mendelson - Chair 
pmendelson@dccouncil.us (202) 724-8032   

David A. Catania - Councilmember (At-Large) 
dcatania@dccouncil.us (202) 724-7772   

Anita Bonds - Councilmember (At-Large) 
abonds@dccouncil.us (202) 724-8064  

David Grosso - Councilmember (At-Large) 
dgrosso@dccouncil.us (202) 724-8105

Vincent Orange - Councilmember (At-Large) 
vorange@dccouncil.us (202) 724-8174

Jim Graham - Councilmember (Ward 1) 
jgraham@dccouncil.us (202) 724-8181   

Jack Evans - Councilmember (Ward 2) 
jevans@dccouncil.us (202) 724-8058   

Mary M. Cheh - Councilmember (Ward 3) 
mcheh@dccouncil.us (202) 724-8062   

Muriel Bowser - Councilmember - (Ward 4) 
mbowser@dccouncil.us (202) 724-8052 

Kenyan McDuffie - Councilmember (Ward 5) 
kmcduffie@dccouncil.us (202) 724-8028   

Tommy Wells - Councilmember (Ward 6) 
twells@dccouncil.us (202) 724-8072   

Yvette M. Alexander - Councilmember (Ward 7) 
yalexander@dccouncil.us (202) 724-8068   

Marion Barry - Councilmember (Ward 8) 
mbarry@dccouncil.us (202) 724-8045  

 

Have questions? Call HIPS or email Emily@HIPS.org

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.

connect

get updates